

Blacks In Government ®

3005 Georgia Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20001-3807 (202) 667-3280 — FAX (202) 667-3705 www.bignet.org

March 29, 2024

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Region I Anthony Thomas Haywood Hunter

Region II

Joanne M. Palmer Gwendolyn Townsend

Region III Michael Upshaw Aviann Usher

Region IV Peggy Wilson Honorable Dr. Doris Sartor

Region V Shirron A. Brown-Mills Adrianne Callahan

Region VI Honorable Katherine L. Cage, Chair Kimberly Williams

Region VII Robin McDaniel-Beck Delores Ivy

Region VIII Nichelle Rogers Julie B. Hicks

Region IX Honorable Toni Pearson, Vice Chair Derrick Felton

Region X Erin Small Marie Bell-Allen

Region XI Marion V. Allen Michael McCrimmon

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

National President Honorable Shirley A. Jones, Esq.

National Executive Vice President Dr. Lynwood Townsend

National 1st Vice President Honorable Deena M. Sheppard

National 2nd Vice President Danny Wade

National 3rd Vice President Mazella Thomas

National Secretary Dr. Wilda Parker-Collins

National Corresponding Secretary Anthony Lee, J.D.

National Treasurer Michael Smith

National Assistant Treasurer Duane Hill

MEMORANDUM FOR REGIONAL COUNCIL AND CHAPTER PRESIDENTS

FROM: Honorable Ms. Shirley Jones, Esq.

National President

THRU: Honorable Ms. Katherine Cage

Chair, National Board of Directors

SUBJECT: Nomination for National Officers

This is the official notification that nominations may be submitted for the National Offices listed below. All nominations received will be presented at the 2024 National Delegates Assembly scheduled for Sunday, August 11, 2024.

Article VIII, Section 1 of the National Constitution of Blacks In Government (BIG), states that nominations for National Offices shall be made by a Nominating Committee elected by the delegates at the previous National Delegates Assembly. Nominations may also be submitted by individuals, regional councils, and chapters provided that such names are transmitted to the Nominating Committee at least sixty (60) days prior to the date set for the National Delegates Assembly. Delegates may also make nominations from the floor of the 2024 National Delegates Assembly during the nominating process.

The following offices are open for nominations in August 2024 per Article VIII, Section 2. (A):

- 1) National President (Incumbent is **not** eligible for re-nomination)
- 2) First Vice President (Incumbent is **not** eligible for re-nomination)
- 3) Third Vice President (Incumbent is **not** eligible for re-nomination)
- 3) Secretary (Incumbent is eligible for re-nomination)
- 4) Assistant Treasurer (Incumbent is **not** eligible for re-nomination)

All nominations must be submitted directly to the Chair, National Nominating Committee (Honorable Ms. Kathy Best), with one copy to the Vice Chair (Mr. Mark Stone) and one copy to the BIG National Office, Attention: Nominations 2024. In addition, the attached certification form must be completed by the nominee, with signature and submitted directly to the Chair, National Nominating Committee (Honorable Ms. Kathy Best) with one copy to the Vice Chair ((Mr. Mark Stone) and one copy to the BIG National Office, Attention: Nominations 2024.

All nominations and certifications forms must reach the chair prior to or postmarked by the deadline of June 12, 2024. Nominations and certification forms may also be sent via e-mail to bignominations@gmail.com, and cc'd to markBlGnom@gmail.com prior to or by the deadline of June 12, 2024. An acknowledgement will be sent to the person submitting the nomination(s), to the nominee(s), with a copy sent to the Vice Chair of the National

Nominating Committee and the BIG National Office. Addresses for Honorable Ms. Best, Mr. Mark Stone, and the BIG National Office are listed below.

Ms. Kathy Best, Chair National Nominating Committee 403 Denali Circle, Apt 301 Naperville, IL 60563 Mr. Mark Stone, Vice Chair National Nominating Committee 1243 South 19th Street Philadelphia, PA 19146 BIG National Office Attn: Nominations 2024 3005 Georgia Avenue Washington, DC 20001

Written nominations and completed certification forms received after June 12, 2024, must be brought to the National Delegates Assembly and provided to the Chair of the National Delegates Assembly and Chair of the National Nominating Committee. However, please advise the nominees whose nominations are received after June 12, 2024, that the nominations must be stated from the floor during the 2024 National Delegates Assembly.

For additional information, contact the National Nominating Committee Chair, Honorable Ms. Kathy Best at (617) 256-8187 or via email at bignominations@gmail.com.

cc: National Board of Directors

National Executive Committee

Honorable Mr. David A. Groves, Chair, National Delegates Assembly
Honorable Ms. Mary Thomas, Deputy Chair, National Delegates Assembly
Honorable Ms. Kathy Best, Chair, National Nominating Committee
Mr Mark Stone, Vice Chair, National Nominating Committee

Attachment: Certification Form